An award-winning restaurant

About our awards

Darleys has won several awards and accolades:

  • Included in the Michelin Guide 2023
  • AA Rosette Award for Culinary Excellence 2023
  • Tripadvisor Traveller’s Choice Award 2022

But what do these awards actually mean?

The Michelin Guide

Michelin keeps much of its approach under wraps, but does outline five main criteria it uses to decide whether an establishment should be included in the guide:

  1. Quality of the products
  2. Mastery of flavour and cooking techniques
  3. The personality of the chef in the cuisine
  4. Value for money
  5. Consistency between visits.

AA Rosette Award

Introduced in 1956, the AA Rosette Award is the longest running nationwide scheme for assessing the quality of food served in restaurants and hotels. Rosettes are a clear indicator of culinary excellence.

AA says on its website that of all the restaurants across the UK, around 10% are of a standard worthy of one Rosette or above. At Darleys, we have two Rosettes.

Awards are made solely on the basis of a visit or visits by one or more AA inspectors who have extensive experience in assessing quality. For the inspectors, the top and bottom line is the food. The taste of the dish is what counts, and whether it successfully delivers what is promised on the menu.

Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice Award

This award means we are in the top 10% of restaurants worldwide and have demonstrated a commitment to hospitality excellence. Tripadvisor say that winners are determined based on the quality and quantity of traveller reviews and ratings posted on Tripadvisor over a 12-month period, as well as an additional editorial process.


Listed in the Michelin Guide 2023
AA Rosette award for culinary excellence 2023
Listed in the Michelin Guide 2023
AA Rosette award for culinary excellence 2023